What I loved was the diversity of ideas explored and the diversity and number of actors involved. - Susan Allen.

inspiraTO's 14th Season

CALL FOR DIRECTORS: NOW OPEN. Direct a ten-minute play at this year’s festival. Request to direct a play deadline: January 26. Details here.

Open call for auditions posted in February 2019 (auditions held in March). Details here.

30 production crew and volunteer opportunities: Ongoing. Details here.  

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter!! Receive updates to auditions, contests, directing and volunteer opportunities. Scroll to the bottom of this page and sign up.



We had 877 play submissions for the upcoming season's theme: Outcast. Thank you for all your submissions. Congratulations to the winners (see below).

14th inspiraTO Playwriting Contest Winners*:

Blood by Yael Haskal

Catcha Falling Knife by John AD Fraser – 1st Prize

Chain Link by Deb Hiett

Extended Time by Beth Novick

Faith on Tuesday by Thomas C Dunn

Homo for Christmas by John Bavoso

It Takes A Village by Faith De Savigne´

Just A Game by Katie Murphy

Old Age and Treachery by Wyatt Lamoureux

Shifting Emojis by Robin Miller Currás

Stargazer by Greg Gould

Strings by Brian Cern

Take Me Out by Chip Bolcik

The Stand by Caity-Shea Violette

The Sum of Your Experience by Trace Crawford

Three Lotus Flowers by Kay Adshead

Wine Night by Rhiannon Ciara Houch

inspiraTO Playwright’s Toolbox selection:                                     

One Small Step by Lawrence Aronovitch  


*Thank you to this season's inspiraTO Selection Committee: Andreja Kovac, Zachary Moull, Erin O'Hanley, Nicole Santos, Rachel Lampreia, Rae Bernakevitch, Dominik Loncar

Over 100 theatre artists and 30 production volunteers taking part each season. There are so many ways to be involved.


The joy of live theatre!

Thank you to all those who made inspiraTO a worthwhile experience.

Stay connected and be a part of it all! Subscribe to our Newsletter (with contest, audition, volunteer and festival updates). Scroll to the bottom of this page and sign up. Follow us: see what our artists have to say on twitter. Get updates on facebook.

I had no idea that such an art form was ripe for both artist and audience members.
It is an art form whose time has come.
— Ydessa Hendeles

Theatre inspiraTO, the producers of the inspiraTO Festival, Canada's largest ten-minute play festival, is entering its 14th year. Each season, playwrights from around the globe submit a ten-minute play based on a theme. The inspiraTO Festival is held in Toronto in late May/early June and provides over 100 theatre artists an opportunity to participate, network, learn and grow their craft.