Playwright's toolbox logo-1.jpg

toolbox for playwrights

The future needs your voice, your passion, your art.

 I learned that bringing a play from a tiny idea to a live theatrical event, is a thrill             and a reward worth every moment of the pain and effort.                                                                        -Dale Sheldrake (inspiraTO Playwright, 2015)

inspiraTO’s Playwright’s Toolbox Program
Sept. 6 to Oct. 18, 2018, Toronto

Here’s your chance to learn the craft of writing an engaging ten-minute play. *See your play staged at next season’s inspiraTO festival. Writing a quality ten-minute play requires work. The same principles apply in creating a compelling ten-minute play as they do in writing a full length play; from establishing conflict, rising action, climax and resolution. The program is not just theoretical lecturing on playwriting. We take a hands-on and creative approach - one where you experience the full process of creation - with many touch points in learning. 

This program allows participants a comprehensive process: 

- Creating your own original ten-minute piece with solid principles to guide you               - Learn how to integrate this year’s theme
- A reading of each play on the last workshop
- Receive one-on-one feedback on your play (work with a dramaturg between Sept. 30 – Oct. 10 via phone or Skype)
- *One script will automatically be selected in the festival! The remaining scripts can submit to the contest

Four workshops (Thursday evenings): Sept. 6, 13, 20 and Oct. 18, 6:30 pm to 9:30 pm. 
Participants must be able to work on their scripts, on their own, a minimum of four hours each week, during the duration of the program.

353 Sherbourne St. in Toronto. Please note: For the first two workshop sessions (Sept. 6 and 13) no laptops/tablets will be allowed. 

There is no need to bring a script (but you can if you wish) – we prefer you bring an “inspiration”: a burning question, an interesting location, event, an engaging character or any other “trigger” as a starting point to your play. Note the upcoming theme: Outcast.  

This is open to anyone who is fully committed to doing the work required in developing their craft of playwriting.  Whether you’re a first time novice or seasoned writer we are looking for participants who want to work on the craft of writing an engaging ten-minute play. Please ensure you create time for writing between workshops (minimum of four hours a week). We want you to be the best playwright you can be. Be prepared to work on your creativity and see it unfold and evolve over a six week period.  
Limited space. A maximum of 12 participants will be accepted. Apply today. 


Deadline to apply: August 24, 2018.  
You will be notified by August 26 if you have been accepted. 
Once accepted you will need to pay by Sept. 3. 

Fee: $250. Full time students: $180. (Due once accepted in the program).

Thank you to our sponsors for supporting this new initiative.  

Dominik Loncar is the founder of the inspiraTO Festival, which has grown to become Canada’s largest ten-minute play festival (now entering its 14th season). His first play, the Glory Café was featured on CBC’s Metro Morning show. Dominik has written over a dozen ten-minute plays (almost all of them produced). In 2010 his play, The Body Electric and his direction of Angie Farrow’s The Tango Partner won the Peoples’ Choice Award at the InspiraTO Festival. He has conducted numerous playwriting workshops and has lead Theatre inspiraTO's Playwriting Academy (facilitating and coaching 34 playwrights- in-residence to date). He is excited in creating a space where Canadian aspiring playwrights can thrive in the ten-minute play art form.

Bathwater  by Ayesha Mansur. In photo: Eunjing Nam. Photography by Ismael Asimov. 8th InspiraTO Festival.

Bathwater by Ayesha Mansur. In photo: Eunjing Nam. Photography by Ismael Asimov. 8th InspiraTO Festival.

Current Playwrights-in-Residence

2018 Lawrence Aronovitch Rebecca Grace Julia Noble   Alex Stamp Shelley Hobbs Jaclyn Law

Past Playwrights-in-Residence

Dale Sheldrake
Fiona Clarke
Josh Downing
Linda Jones
Naomi Matlow
Tabitha Keast
Tristan Taylor Rive

Cody Mclenon
Jennifer Turliuk
Julie Cohn
Ken Hall
Matthew Sarookanian
Sandra Cardinal

Christopher Duthie
Lindsay Cochrane
Mirella Christou
Rachel Ganz
Jenny Alexander
Ayesha Mansur
Brett Haynes
Ashley Park
Jordan Mechano
Kevin Craig
Madeleine Jullian
Arianne Matte

Jessica Anderson
Evan Russell Bawtinheimer
Marianne Fedunkiw
Kimia Pourazar
Lisa Aikman
Katie Sly